Dating Single men Single Women Ticketek My Ticketek Venues
Readers recommend...
First look: True Blood season sevenFirst look: True Blood season seven Lindsay's Two Broke Girls cameoLindsay's Two Broke Girls cameo Zac Efron's shirt ripped off at MTV Movie AwardsZac Efron's shirt ripped off at MTV Movie Awards
Hot Topics on MSN NZ:
Marshall assault Royal tour MH370 debris

NZer of the Year finalists unveiled

08:01 Fri Jan 18 2013
Sophie Pascoe
Sophie Pascoe (Getty)
A groundbreaking plastic surgeon, a noted historian and anthropologist, and an engineering genius adored by Silicon Valley are the finalists for New Zealander of the Year.

The finalists are:

* Professor Swee Tan of Wellington, who has been shortlisted for his research into strawberry birthmarks and their treatment, which has implications for cancer treatment and regenerative medicine

* Dame Anne Salmond, a distinguished professor of Maori studies and anthropology at Auckland University, who also has a dedication to improving the country's environment and waterways

* Bill Buckley, the overalls-wearing, Auckland-based founder of Buckley Systems Ltd, which creates machines that prepare 90 per cent of the world's silicon chips for cellphones, TVs, MP3 players and a vast array of other gadgets

The three were chosen from than 700 people and organisations nominated for the 2013 awards.

Among the finalists for the other categories are 20-year-old Sophie Pascoe, who won three gold and three silver medals at the London Paralympics (Young New Zealander of the Year) and Phobic Trust founder Marcia Read (Senior New Zealander of the Year).

Also recognised in the awards are Community of the Year and Local Heroes.

The winner of each category will receive a trophy and $5000 towards their work from the awards' sponsor Kiwibank.

The winners will be chosen by a panel of judges which includes Kiwibank chairman and former prime minister Jim Bolger, past New Zealander of the Year scientist Sir Ray Avery, former Olympic discus athlete Beatrice Faumuina, business and community leaders, and broadcasters.

The winners will be announced on February 28.

Most popular videos
Lindsay Lohan Miscarries During ShowLindsay Lohan Miscarries During Show Marshall And Kirwan On Failed ExperimentMarshall And Kirwan On Failed Experiment Cost Of Owning Property IncreasingCost Of Owning Property Increasing Anzac Day Dawn Service At Cranmer SquareAnzac Day Dawn Service At Cranmer Square Andre Taylor Eyes Hurricanes MilestoneAndre Taylor Eyes Hurricanes Milestone